December 29, 2015

McDonalds French Fries

Whenever we wanted a quick snack for my daughter we would head over to McDonald's to get some french fries. Now it looks like we'll be taking fewer trips.

Turns out that McDonald's French Fries are not Gluten-free. Here a brief description from their website when they answer the question, What are the Ingredients in your fries?:

mcdonaldclassic_sm.jpg
In order to maintain texture, our suppliers partially fry our fries in an oil blend containing canola, soybean and hydrogenated soybean oil. Our suppliers add natural beef flavor, which includes hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk, to the par fry oil to contribute to that World Famous Fry taste. Citric acid is also added to preserve the freshness of the oil, as well as dimethylpolysiloxane to reduce foaming and oil splattering.

Hydrolyzed wheat protein is not gluten free.

For many years, McDonalds French Fries were thought to be made Gluten-free. Everyone perception changed when McDonalds volunteered to list the ingrediants.

What about other fast food vendors?

Not Burger King or Wendys since they both confirm that they fry their french fries in a fryer that also cooks wheat products. (Source: bk.com and Wendys.com)

The only "fast foods" restaurants that I was able to find is Jack in the Box, In-N-Out and Five Guys. (Source huffingtonpost.com French Fries list.)

If your sensitive to Gluten, when you visit your favorite restaurant make sure to always ask if they have a dedicated fryer.

Comments

Add your Comments

Feel free to leave a comment about this post.

- Feel Free to add HTML to your comment!