QA Graphic

Gluten Free Eggnog

All Eggnog is Gluten Free

Good News! All major brands of Egg Nog are naturally Gluten Free! Wheat is not something to add in any recipe for Egg Nog. (I am sure someplace there's an Oreo Egg Nog and that's definitely not Gluten Free!)

I checked Hood, Garelick Farms and they both have their entire Eggnog product line as Gluten Free.

Egg Nog 2018

Turn of the Century Recipe

I found this "Turn of the Century" EggNog recipe at the Boston Public Library (January 1922). This is how your grandmother might have made EggNog.

Beat white to a stiff froth, then put in the yolk, beat very light, and bring milk to boiling heat and pour over the egg, then add sugar and flavor.

If this, is not your recipe please try and see how superior it is to the old way.

I am not exactly sure that's going to taste the same as people might have gotten used to. I will continue to look to see if there's a more detail "Turn of the Century" way to make EggNog.

 

Comments

Add Comments

Name:
Comment:

 

About

This series of posts will cover some tips and tricks that I have learned about my twelve-year-old daughter's gluten-free lifestyle in the Boston area. Gluten-free eating can be challenging in any big city, but especially in Boston due to the high number of restaurants and availability of options. I've been learning what I can to make sure my daughter can still enjoy eating out, and I want to share what I've learned so that other families in the same situation can benefit.

Schedule

WednesdaySnagIt for QA
ThursdayPython
FridayMacintosh
SaturdayInternet Tools
SundayOpen Topic
Monday Media Monday
TuesdayQA