UN Security Council Resolution 660

The Security Council,
Alarmed by the invasion of Kuwait on 2 August 1990 by the military forces of Iraq,

Determining that there exists a breach of international peace and security as regards the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait, Acting under Articles 39 and 40 of the Charter of the United Nations,

  1. Condemns the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait;
  2. Demands that Iraq withdraw immediately and unconditionally all its forces to the positions in which they were located on 1 Augusst 1990;
  3. Calls upon Iraq and Kuwait to begin immediately intensive negotiations for the resolution of their differences and supports all efforts in this regard, and especially those of the League of Arab States.
  4. Decides to meet again as necessary to consider further steps to ensure compliance with the present resolution.

Adopted by 14 votes to none, with one abstention(Yemen)

Of the 15 Security members five are permanent: China, France, Soviet Union, United Kingdom, and the United States. In 1990, the remaining members, elected by the General Assembly to serve two-year terms, were: Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Ethiopia, Finland, Ivory Coast, Malaysia, Romania, Yemen, and Zaire.