October 22, 2013

Maverick Install

Apple does something every major release that annoys me and I am pretty sure that I am not the only developer that encounters this. Apple makes some changes to some of the root UNIX configuration files without telling the user why they did that. As a results, I'll see weird behavior and I have to figure out why.

Let me back it up a bit. I know I am getting a little technical, but bare with me here. Since Mac OS X Beta, I have been playing around with the core UNIX that is a part of Mac OS X. One of those files is Apache, which is the primary Webserver that comes with Mac OS X.

Apache is a very powerful Webserver that allows you to do all sorts of cool things. If your interested you should check out "Cool things you can do with Apache."

I changed the Apache configuration file to enable PHP and point the root folder to a different directory. I do this so that it's easier for me to do changes, and I enjoy writting code in PHP.

Back to the issue, in every release of Macintosh OS X, and in some minor updates, they backup the configuration file that I have and enable their own Apache configuration file. Why? Is there some cool feature that I need to know about? Security bug fix?

All I ask is for Apple to tell us why they changed the default apache configuration file. Developers can then assess the risk of using the updated conf file or reverting to the previous configuration file.

Tech notes:

Apache configuration file locations:
/etc/apache2/httpd.conf
/etc/apache2/httpd.conf~previous - this is what apple renames your old config file.

When you change the configuration file, you need to restart apache, Simply type in:
apachectl restart

Comments

Add your Comments

Feel free to leave a comment about this post.

- Feel Free to add HTML to your comment!